Family · Uncategorized

Dating a medical student means holidays apart

This Thanksgiving, I am very thankful for the wonderfully blessed year I have had, and I am looking forward to a day of overindulging and spending time with family and friends. However, my thanksgiving is always a little bit lonely because I never spend it with Future Dr. B. I rarely have spent any holidays with him in fact. I guess this is just how it is when you are dating a future doctor in a long distance relationship.

Every big holiday, I always feel a little bit empty as I think about how Future Dr. B and I won’t get to spend the holiday together. I think of all the other people out there with significant others in the same position. I know doctor’s significant others aren’t the only ones spending holidays apart. It does give me comfort that there are many of us banded together in this perpetual party of one holiday problem. However, the holidays are a time that can both create joy and sadness in a person’s life. It is especially hard if you are spending a holiday without a support system.

This has been a very tough year for me in general. Being apart from Future Dr. B is just skimming the top. I lost both my aunt and my cherished grandmother this year. It hasn’t been long since my grandmother’s passing, making this year especially difficult.

I know that this distance during the holidays will most likely be a trend, especially as Future Dr. B is headed to residency. I am going to try to focus on building the relationships with my family and friends present and hope there will be a time in the future that our holidays are together. In the mean time, I am thankful for another great year and am looking forward to what’s to come in 2016.

Happy Thanksgiving from mine to yours!image

Leave a Reply

