Uncategorized

Med Year 2 (M2) but what about me?

The second year of medical school has turned out to be the hardest yet. I know what you are thinking…but you only have one year to compare it to. However, one year has completely changed the pace of our relationship all thanks to M2.

As the weekend approaches, I am slightly disheartened knowing that I will not see Future Dr. B as a result of his neuro test on Monday. We have been trying to see each other about every other week to every two weekends this year. The more frequent we see each other the better our relationship seems to be, so I have been making it a priority this year to see each other more. No one can really prepare a couple for M2 I feel. Even some of the spouses/girlfriends of students in Future Dr. B’s class have been lamenting on the rigor that is required by our medical school student loves. Every night I hear about the work load, the test, the worries, the concerns – Which leaves the question: Where in medical school year 2 is there room for me?

Luckily, I myself have been quite busy with work, trying to push ahead working towards a new promotion. However nothing can really keep my mind off of missing my time with Future Dr. B or the fact that this weekend I will be hanging out with my friends and family, missing the other half of me. You don’t realize how much sacrifice goes into medical school until once again, during our favorite time of year (fall) we are missing out on picking apples together or tailgating a football game. Here is to the beginning of Med Year 2. I am just hoping his pace will slow down soon so that I can be in love with the carefree boy I first fell for.

Leave a Reply

